Fa

A truck dropped off an enormous pile of hardcover books at my house last week, and now my garage is full of them!

We have been packaging up all the kickstarter preorders like crazy. The first wave is away, all that would fit in the car. We’re working on wave two – waiting to get the audio book finished, and the tshirts back from the tshirtatorium. Anybody’s order who includes one of them is going to have to wait a smidge longer, as I’m expecting them OH SO SHORTLY. Basically, everybody in the US should be getting their order before Christmas. International people – if your order was simple, I’m gonna go with probably, but I’m not entirely sure. I may be figuring out a friend in the UK who I can ship a big pile of books to, and then have them ship the books out individually – crunching some numbers to see how effective that would be. International rates have gone up ALOT since I did all the math for the Kickstarter in June. Probably just the Christmas making the post office explode.

The book looks FANTASTIC. It’s big, it’s shiney, it’s brilliant. I have caught FIVE count them FIVE typos so far, in accordance with Gaiman’s law. All of these are typos that crept in AFTER the book got professionally edited. I tweaked some sentences in the last minute, and was apparently quite sleep deprived. There are two misspellings, one word oddly missing, and two spacing issues with words smunched together. Fortunately, I make up enough words that some of these should pass unnoticed. To the people who do do the typo noticing, I’d like to point out that 98% of the book is spelled correctly : )

The pictures look so fabulous, I am so fortunate to have gotten the artists I did to heap their talents upon this book.

We are having a book release party SATURDAY DECEMBER 20th at ‘Collectors Paradise’ a comic book store at 131 Winnetka Ave, Winnetka, CA. If you are at all in the neighborhood that evening, and are able to drop by, we would really enjoy it. There will be food and drink, free drawings and prizes, dinosaurs, and an art gallery showing of some of the most exceptional pieces from the book.  I’ll be doing another blog post about that shortly with more details.

So that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Oh yeah, I had a baby. Well, my wife had the baby, but I helped. Wellington Friesen is now 1 month old, and everytime we think we’re used to his schedule, he changes them. We are the kind of sleep deprived that all parents will appreciate. He’s crazy cute, and I can’t wait to read this book to him as a bedtime story, and have him know what I’m talking about : )

Leave a Reply

